Real Introductions

Introductions are odd. Somehow, in a few simple words and fragments, I am supposed to summarize my entire identity and who I am. How am I supposed to manage to fit seventeen years of experience into merely seventeen words?

  Who am I?

I could start off by saying:

Hello, my name is…

I am _____ years old…

My favourite colour is …

______ is my hobby…

I go to the school of…

My goal in life is to become…

But that would be just a superficial, ‘surface’ introduction, an introduction that most would consider normal and fit for social events. That is simply ignorant and useless. I guess I have always been one to want to know more. I wish to learn of your experiences and your regrets, your greatest failures and successes, your goals and ambitions and your biggest fears. I hope to engage in more than a conversation about my favorite shade of blue, I hope to be able to see, even for an instant, the real you.

Hello my name is…

My name is Bhawan and this is the real me. I believe that my greatest life experiences are yet to come and that everyday is a new day to work towards those opportunities. I am a firm believer against the idea of regrets. Regrets don’t help anyone or anything… so why regret? Why throw yourself down a path of nothing but guilt and negativity? My greatest failure has been compromising my own happiness, continually, in order to provide for others and so allowing for my own ambitions to be thrown on the back burner. I don’t believe in having a ‘greatest success’ because every success can be even greater. There is always room for growth and to be better so there is always opportunity for even greater success. My greatest ambition is to one day have a life in which I am happy and satisfied with who I have become. Though I believe that this is an ambition with no end as I probably won’t ever be satisfied with who I am. Rather my actual goal would be to always strive to become better than the day before. And, finally, my biggest fear is being a cause of disappointment. My biggest fear is not being able to live up to those who believe in me, those who are there every step of the way. Failing in the eyes of those who look down on me and those who believe in my success scares me much more than the idea of failing myself.

This is who I am today.

This might not be who I am tomorrow.

This was a small piece of the real me but it is definitely not all of me. Every day is a day to discover a bit more of myself, through opportunity and experience. Every day is a new chance to develop my identity from learning of new perspectives and becoming aware of new thinking’s. I am a student of the world around me. I am on the journey of finding myself.

Who am I?

I am in discovery.

Image result for black and white tumblr gifs the beginning

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *